Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Hockey Is Pucked

Lack of Love

Hockey goes into the playoffs on a wave of apathy. Could soccer one day supplant the game as America's fourth sport?

April 8 - In the fall of 1969 I was a full-time graduate student working two part-time jobs, so both time and money were sparse. But from the day of my arrival in the San Francisco Bay Area, I had marked one night on my calendar with a red circle, damn the expense or the work/study obligations.

That was the night the Boston Bruins came to town to play the nascent Oakland Seals, soon to be the California Golden Seals and soon after that to be extinct. The Bruins by contrast were a beloved Boston institution. Let the bluebloods hang at Fenway. The Bruins were more a reflection of the city's gritty, blue-collar persona, more Mystic River than Charles. And this '69-'70 version was a burgeoning powerhouse, a team both flashy and nasty and led by the NHL's new golden boy, Bobby Orr. It would go on to capture the Stanley Cup, winning both the conference and championship finals in four-game sweeps.

In truth, I felt some trepidation about venturing into enemy territory to embrace the big, bad Bruins. Visitors to the old Boston Garden weren't always treated gently. But I was young and foolish so when the Bruins skated onto the East Bay ice I rose cloaked in my black-and-gold colors for all to see. And so, of course, did absolutely everyone else in the sold-out arena. As I soon realized, there was really no such thing as a Seals fan, only Bruins fans transplanted to the other coast.