Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My 100th "Give Me Advice" thread

Is anybody a financial advisor?

I've been working for the same company for 9 years, and have earned a lot of company stock in that time. For most of the year, the price has been around $45 per share, varying between $42 and $58 over the past 12 months.

A bigger company is making a bid for my company at $65 per share.

What should I do? What happens if the bigger company buys my company? Do I end up with their stock?

I know some of you have been through this. I remember when Boeing bought MacDonnell Douglas. That was a similar thing, wasn't it?

It depends on the terms of the buyout. Usually they do some sort of mixed bid (cash and stock) so you may end up with a check and shares of the other company. You may just have all of your current stock converted into shares of the new company.

Are you wanting to sell and reinvest if this happens?

Official Lounge sponsor of Chris Pronger & Alex Pietrangelo

Comment

QUOTE(Prngr44 @ Nov 1 2005, 08:31 AM) Quoted post

It depends on the terms of the buyout. Usually they do some sort of mixed bid (cash and stock) so you may end up with a check and shares of the other company. You may just have all of your current stock converted into shares of the new company.

Are you wanting to sell and reinvest if this happens?
      [/b][/quote]

It's mostly in a 401k, though I think my pension is based on company stock. I can't do anything about the pension, but I can move all of my money out of the company stock into a Dow Jones Index fund, a bond, or an international fund (I have 12 other choices varying in risk).

I guess it's just a matter of timing it right.

Comment

QUOTE(ksbluesfan @ Nov 1 2005, 08:28 AM) Quoted post

I've been working for the same company for 9 years, and have earned a lot of company stock in that time. For most of the year, the price has been around $45 per share, varying between $42 and $58 over the past 12 months.