No announcement yet.

A. Rodriguez, Manny, Marquis win Silver Slugger Awards

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • A. Rodriguez, Manny, Marquis win Silver Slugger Awards

    Best of the best
    A-Rod, Ramirez win eighth Silver Slugger Awards
    Posted: Monday October 31, 2005 12:30PM; Updated: Monday October 31, 2005 12:34PM

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) -- The New York Yankees' Alex Rodriguez and Boston's Manny Ramirez both won their eighth Silver Slugger Awards on Monday, while eight of the nine members of the NL team were first-time winners.

    Los Angeles second baseman Jeff Kent, who won for the fourth time, was the only member of the NL team to have previously won the award. He was joined in the NL by Chicago Cubs catcher Michael Barrett and first baseman Derrek Lee, Cincinnati shortstop Felipe Lopez, Houston third baseman Morgan Ensberg, Atlanta outfielder Andruw Jones, Florida outfielder Miguel Cabrera, Milwaukee outfielder Carlos Lee and St. Louis pitcher Jason Marquis.

    Winners were picked by major league managers and coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players. Selections for each position were based on a combination of offensive statistics, such as batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as impressions of a player's offensive value.

    Rodriguez, who won seven Silver Sluggers at shortstop, won for the first time at third base and was joined on the list by Yankees outfielder Gary Sheffield, a four-time winner.

    Ramirez was among three Boston players on the team, joined by catcher Jason Varitek, a first-time winner, and designated hitter David Ortiz, who made the list for the first time in 2004.

    Texas first baseman Mark Teixeira repeated, and Rangers shortstop Alfonso Soriano made it for the second straight year and third time overall. Baltimore shortstop Miguel Tejada also repeated.

    Ramirez won for the seventh straight season and was joined in the outfield by Sheffield and the Los Angeles Angels' Vladimir Guerrero, a five-time winner.

    Guerrero, Derrek Lee, Ramirez, Rodriguez, Tejada and Varitek earned bonuses of $100,000 that were part of their contracts. Barrett earned $50,000, Ensberg $25,000 and Carlos Lee $15,000.

    The awards are given annually by Hillerich & Bradsby Co., the maker of Louisville Slugger bats.

    Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.[/b][/quote]

    "Can't buy what I want because it's free...
    Can't buy what I want because it's free..."
    -- Pearl Jam, from the single Corduroy

  • #2
    This award is such a farce. It's completely based on defensive ability.
    Of course you do.


    • #3

      Brian Roberts, I say.


      • #4
        QUOTE(backstop @ Oct 31 2005, 04:12 PM) Quoted post


        Brian Roberts, I say.

        VORP-meisters everywhere are outraged.
        This game's gotta be played with fear and arrogance - Crash Davis


        • #5
          Ensberg should pull a George C. Scott and refuse to accept his award after that shitty World Series performance.

          AND he should donate that $25K to a worthy charity....or just send me the check for my pain and suffering.

          I'm done crying. For now.