Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Baseball rules/strategy question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Baseball rules/strategy question

    Last night's game. Bottom of fifth, I believe. Cards had bases loaded, one out, Molina at the plate. He hits a fairly sharp grounder to shortstop. Walker waits for the ball, then runs to third. Doesn't matter. It's a double play.

    What if Walker had allowed himself to get hit by the baseball? All he had to do was stick his leg out. Would that just be one out, keeping the inning alive, or would umpires call interference and give Mets the double play?
    "There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle."
    --Albert Einstein

  • #2
    was the ump angle hernandez?

    Official Sponsor of Marco Gonzales and the Productive Out!!!


    Said the Quangle Wangle Quee

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by kennyboyerfan@Sep 9 2005, 10:18 AM
      Last night's game. Bottom of fifth, I believe. Cards had bases loaded, one out, Molina at the plate. He hits a fairly sharp grounder to shortstop. Walker waits for the ball, then runs to third. Doesn't matter. It's a double play.

      What if Walker had allowed himself to get hit by the baseball? All he had to do was stick his leg out. Would that just be one out, keeping the inning alive, or would umpires call interference and give Mets the double play?

      You cannot assume a double play. I've agrued this point numerous times.

      Comment


      • #4
        My first thought is that he is out, and nobody gets to advance, but that would mean the bases were still loaded with two outs. And that doesn't seem right.

        Helluva question, though.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by backstop@Sep 9 2005, 09:21 AM
          My first thought is that he is out, and nobody gets to advance, but that would mean the bases were still loaded with two outs. And that doesn't seem right.

          Helluva question, though.

          Seems like it would be a really smart strategy with the game on the line. Would be very gutsy. You'd have to assume they were going to get the double play. Although with Yadi running, that's probably a safe bet.
          "There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle."
          --Albert Einstein

          Comment


          • #6
            7.09 (g)

            If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter runner because of the action of his teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by backstop@Sep 9 2005, 11:25 AM
              7.09 (g)

              If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter runner because of the action of his teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.
              Yep, both the runner and batter would be out...

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by backstop@Sep 9 2005, 10:25 AM
                7.09 (g)

                If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter runner because of the action of his teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.
                Unless he was a good actor unlike Reggie Jackson sticking his ass out in the WS a few years ago
                Official sponsor of Mike Shannon's Retirement Party

                Comment


                • #9
                  What if it was a pop-up and the base runner held his ground, which caused the fielder to not be able to catch the pop-up?
                  I did this in softball the other night. There was a big debate as to what the call should be. The umps really had no clue.
                  I found out later that one of the umps had called the infield fly. I figured that meant the batter was out and then I was out for interfering, which would have been a double play.

                  I talked them into letting me stay on 1st though and only calling the batter out. :P

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by Beetlebop70@Sep 9 2005, 11:36 AM
                    What if it was a pop-up and the base runner held his ground, which caused the fielder to not be able to catch the pop-up?
                    I did this in softball the other night. There was a big debate as to what the call should be. The umps really had no clue.
                    I found out later that one of the umps had called the infield fly. I figured that meant the batter was out and then I was out for interfering, which would have been a double play.

                    I talked them into letting me stay on 1st though and only calling the batter out. :P
                    Were you on the base or in the baseline? On the base you're safe, in the baseline both you and the batter are out.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by 210+Sep 9 2005, 10:41 AM-->
                      QUOTE(210 @ Sep 9 2005, 10:41 AM)

                    • #12
                      Originally posted by Beetlebop70+Sep 9 2005, 10:43 AM-->
                      QUOTE(Beetlebop70 @ Sep 9 2005, 10:43 AM)
                      Originally posted by [email protected] 9 2005, 10:41 AM

                    • #13
                      A batter is out when he intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball; A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter out. If, in a run down between third base and home plate, the succeeding runner has advanced and is standing on third base when the runner in a run down is called out for offensive interference, the umpire shall send the runner standing on third base back to second base. This same principle applies if there is a run down between second and third base and succeeding runner has reached second (the reasoning is that no runner shall advance on an interference play and a runner is considered to occupy a base until he legally has reached the next succeeding base).

                      Comment


                      • #14
                        Originally posted by Celtic+Sep 9 2005, 09:21 AM-->
                        QUOTE(Celtic @ Sep 9 2005, 09:21 AM)

                      • #15
                        Originally posted by ShortHop+Sep 9 2005, 11:33 AM-->
                        QUOTE(ShortHop @ Sep 9 2005, 11:33 AM)
                        Originally posted by [email protected] 9 2005, 09:21 AM
                      Working...
                      X