• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good riddance to a bad park

Chicago Tribune

By Paul Sullivan
    Tribune staff reporter

September 7, 2005

I bought one of those $10 raffle tickets Wednesday for a chance to push the button that implodes Busch Stadium this fall, with the plan of giving it to Steve Bartman if I win.

Blowing up this grungy, sterile, cookie-cutter ballpark would be a pleasure comparable to any in life, and who should get the honor but the world's most recognizable Cubs fan?

How does one say goodbye to Busch Stadium?

The same way one says goodbye to the gout, I suppose.

Busch represented all that went wrong with sports in the 1960s, with its bland, symmetrical look, its ultra-high upper deck, its garish red seats and artificial surface that could fry the rubber off a players' cleats.

I have been coming here since my college days at the University of Missouri in the late 1970s, and I swear they still haven't cleaned it since I was a sophomore. While walking around the park Wednesday morning to get a look at the new Busch Stadium being built next door, I couldn't help but notice all the cigarette butts left over from the night before. Same as it ever was.

Fans get used to any stadium they call home, and you don't hear many St. Louisians moaning about Busch. But when they get a chance to come to Chicago and watch a game in a real ballpark, they understand what they have been missing.

I have seen baseball games, rock concerts and even a Cardinals-Bears game at Busch, and one thing remains the same—it never grows on you.

I have waited on deadline for an elevator that never works, have eaten press-box food I wouldn't give my dog and have covered a World Series game with a bucket next to my laptop catching rain from an unpluggable leak in the ceiling. If Minute Maid Park is Valhalla for baseball writers, Busch Stadium is hell.