• Show
Clear All

• Miklasz: See the Blues; see the Blues snooze

See the Blues; see the Blues snooze; hear the fans' boos
    By Bernie Miklasz
    Of the Post-Dispatch
    03/15/2004

Sports Columnist Bernie Miklasz

After another flat-tire loss in an important game, the Blues insisted that they came to the arena with hunger in their belly and adrenaline in their bloodstream.

"We were desperate on the bench, no matter what it looks like," center Doug Weight said.

Desperate on the bench?

Huh?

Perhaps the Blues should have transferred this desperation to the ice on a sleepy Sunday night at Savvis Center. Then maybe they wouldn't have been booed off the ice after an ambivalent effort against the visiting Calgary Flames.

Finally clicking under new coach Mike Kitchen, the Blues were seemingly renewed and revived. Sparked by trade acquisitions Mike Sillinger and Brian Savage, the Blues had crafted a 4-0-2 unbeaten streak, and a win over Calgary would have validated their progress.

Instead, the Blues were blanked 3-0 by the faster, more furious Flames. The Blues, again, lost ground to a horse they're stalking in the race for a spot, and favorable seeding, in the Western Conference playoffs.

And here we go again. When is the last time the Blues won a meaningful game? (Better dust off the franchise history book.) In this four-game home stand, the Blues welcomed Nashville and Calgary, two of the challengers in the Western duel. The result: a tie with Nashville, a loss to Calgary, and one Blues goal in 125 minutes. Where are the big stars in the games that matter most?